This entry is old and may contain information that is not up-to-date.

Is Kahlúa gluten-free and wheat-free?

Hi, I know most of the Kahlúa, except the 'drinks to go' and 'ready to drink' versions are vegan. Could you confirm that the vegan ones are also gluten-free & wheat-free. It looks obvious they are but just want to be sure. Thanks.

Marian Report inappropriate content
Show best answer

Comments

  • Hi Marian,
    Thank you for your interest in Kahlúa!
    The processes of distillation should eliminate cereal proteins from distilled spirits drinks and therefore distilled drinks are generally accepted for a gluten-free diet. Please note however, that we cannot offer specific advice, and recommend that the individual should discuss these matters with their medical or dietetic advisors. However, the Kahlúa Drinks-to-Go (DTGs) and the Kahlúa Ready-to-Drink (RTDs) contain milk proteins.
    Best regards
    Sara

    Sara Edin Brand Expert & Executive Assistant
  • Tks Sara for this very useful response. I was aware from your site re the ready-to-go drinks alright. Appreciate the response as not all companies bother, which means I won't even try their products. I used to drink Kahlúa so would like to get back to it, especially for desserts!!!

    Marian
  • Tks Sara for this very useful response. I was aware from your site re the ready-to-go drinks alright. Appreciate the response as not all companies bother, which means I won't even try their products. I used to drink Kahlúa so would like to get back to it, especially for desserts!!! Will

    Marian
  • I have Celiac Disease and have a further question with regard to gluten being in your products. I read your (Sara E's) post from about a month ago that mentions that the distillation process removes cereal grain (gluten). Could you please advise if any of the base ingredients that you use to manufacture Kahlua actually have gluten in them to start with? I know what the basic ingredients are to make a homemade drink that is similar to Kahlua (but not close to being as good) and it doesn't necessarily include any gluten-containing ingredients. It would seem that if you started with gluten-free ingredients, the distillation process wouldn't even come into play.

    Thanks very much for your help.
    Dan

    Dan
  • Hi Dan,
    I have received the following answer from our Operations team:

    Kahlua core products do not contain any Gluten or Caseinates. But we do have Kahlua RTD (12.5% abv) and Kahlua DTG (5% abv) which do contain Casenates.

    Hope this helps!
    Best regards
    Sara

    Sara Edin Brand Expert & Executive Assistant
  • What about flavored Kahlua's? The flavoring ingredients, are those gluten free? Ex: Peppermint Mocha Kahlua's.

    Thanks!

    Amy
  • I would also like to know if the gingerbread kahlua is gluten free?

    Taylor
  • Hi Amy,
    thank you for your interest in Kahlúa.
    Kahlua core products do not contain any Gluten or Caseinates. But we do have Kahlua RTD (12.5% abv) and Kahlua DTG (5% abv) which do contain Casenates.
    Best regards
    Sara

    Sara Edin Brand Expert & Executive Assistant
  • So I had to google what you meant by RTG and DTG. For anyone reading this, they mean Ready To Drink and Drink To Go (Please correct me if I'm wrong). So...yay! All the flavored Kahlua's are gluten free. Are you also saying the premixed RTG and DTG are Gluten free?

    Amy
  • Yes, but they do contain Casenates.
    Best regards
    Sara

    Sara Edin Brand Expert & Executive Assistant
  • So essentially, you are preparing Kahlua on/in equipment that has processed items that do have gluten ingredients, and you are assuming that the process of making the Kahlua eliminates any gluten in the final product? Is that what you're saying?

    katie
  • What about the Carmel coloring? Is that dye? Does it contain gluten?

    Cathy
  • I assume you mean that since there are not items containing gluten in the first place, all drinks are gluten free...however they are all processed in the same place so there could be cross contamination with casein (rtg and dtg). Ty

    Neutney
  • Hi Neutney,
    thank you for your interest. We are doublechecking this so we will get back to you as soon as we receive a confirmation.
    Best regards
    Sara

    Sara Edin Brand Expert & Executive Assistant
  • Yes, I would like to know that answer to Neutney question too!!! Just found out that I have to go a Gluten free diet.. I love my Kahlua...

    Linda Wells
  • I would also like to know about the caramel. Most times caramel contains gluten.

    Jolene L
  • I am looking for information about the ingredients used. We cannot have any wheat, monosodium glutamate or barley; otherwise known as gluten due to Celiac's disease. Please let me know if any of your products contains any of these ingredients or if they are used in anyway during production. Any assistance you could provide to help us with the gluten intolerance / allergy (Celiac's) would be appreciated. The reactions can be terribly severe and last days to weeks. Thank you

    Derek S
  • I would also like to know if the Gingerbread Kahlua contains gluten and what are caseinates?
    Karen

    Karen
  • Hi,
    thank you for your interest in Kahlúa
    Our caramel coloring used does not contain any Gluten.
    Same for Kahlúa Gingerbread.
    Best regards
    Sara

    Sara Edin Brand Expert & Executive Assistant
  • Thank U Sara. Does gingerbread kahlua have gingerbread in it? I wd have thought gingerbread wd have wheat in it...?
    Karen

    karen
  • Hi Karen,
    thank you for your question.
    Kahlúa Gingerbread does not contain gluten. We have just added the gingerbread spices, not actual gingerbreads.
    Best regards
    Sara

    Sara Edin Brand Expert & Executive Assistant
  • Does peppermint Kahlua have red dye? Thanks

    Kathy
  • Does pumpkin spice Kahlúa contain any dairy?

    Maggie
  • Thank you!! My mom will enjoy!!

    Angela
  • Oh yes... please advice to which products have red 40 and yellow 5,6 and yellow lake.

    Angela
  • Very curious about the dye question....

    Shelli
  • Hi Kathy,
    Kahlúa Pepparmint Mocha does not contain Red Dye.
    Best regards
    Sara

    Sara Edin Brand Expert & Executive Assistant
  • What type is the caramel? (plain E150a, Ammonia E150c, Sulphite Ammonia E150d?).
    Is the vanilla extract natural?

    Thank you.

    Sean T
  • Is the original flavored Kahlua contain any dairy products? I read on another site that butter is used in the caramel flavor.

    Jessica
  • So I just went to the liquor store and saw that the rtg drink contains vodka. Are you using the vodka that is gluten free as well? This might be a stupid question but in new at all this!
    :) thank you!

    Josie
  • It has been 3 months since you started checking into the gluten cross contamination issue. Any word yet? (Cross contamination can be just as harmful as using gluten ingredients).

    Kelly
  • I am very interested in the gluten questions, I have long term reactions to gluten but do not have celiac. These reactions last for days and weeks and have recently bought a new bottle of Kahlua not knowing you had changed your manufacturing. The previous bottle which I recently finished was the original liqueur and had no problems with consuming it. This is the only new product I have added and I have been having an unexplained reaction. I have switched to all alcohol products which the manufacturers confirm products are not distilled from wheat, rye or barley products, as my reaction is not from celiac. After switching to vodkas distilled from corn I have no problems with those products. I would like to get confirmation as the information above seems to have conflicting information and I would like to continue consuming your product. Does at any point in the harvesting, handling, shared equipment, bins, bottling equipment or any of the ingredients come from or come into contact with any gluten containing product. I know this is a bit long winded but just trying to get it straight for my health.

    Tim
  • Does Kahlua contain a potato based vodka?

    JD
  • Does Kahlua contain potato based Vodka?

    JD
  • Kahlua is however based on gluten grains, and many Celiacs have bad reactions to distilled products based on wheat grains. So even if it is "gluten free" according to current standards that does not mean that it will not cause gluten reactions in Celiacs

    Paul Jorritsma
  • Is the cross contamination question ever going to be answered? This is a very serious health issue, and a serious question. Thanks.

    Cynthia
  • I don't think this company is every going to answer what grain they distill from or any other "trade" secrets as they put it. I have a new bottle of Kahlua, I have had reactions each time I have used even a small amount in coffee. I have no doubt that this product has gluten and/or wheat components, stay away from it if you have any type of sensitivity to wheat or gluten. I have checked this site and have waited for answers, but nothing. That to me means they would rather protect business instead of being concerned with consumers of the products they sell. Simple question is the vodka in Kahlua distilled from a gluten containing grain, ie. wheat, rye or barley; do any of the other ingredients come from gluten containing ingredients and finally is there any possibility of cross contamination. Very simple, if these questions cannot be answered quickly and efficiently then the simple answer is this product contains gluten! I have not had this much difficulty getting an answer from a company. It saddens me to say, I was going to give what is left of what I purchased to a friend, however I do not wish to endorse this product in any way!

    Tim
  • Hi,

    Thank you all for your interest in Kahlúa. This is the information provided to me by our Operations team for Kahlúa - US version:
    There is no risk for cross-contamination with any gluten-based ingredients.

    Kahlúa is made from sugarcane rum and the other base ingredients are 100% Arabica coffee beans, vanilla, caramel. No grain is added.

    I hope this answers you questions.

    Best regards,
    Noline

    Noline
  • Made with sugarcane rum but sweetened with high fructose (Genetically Modified?) corn syrup, right?

    Eleonore
  • Maybe if you're concerned about your health you should stop drinking Kahlua! Haha. But seriously

    thea
  • Drinking is not what I do, I DRINK from once in a blue moon, and I like whatever I drink to be what I expect is to be: GOOD...and safe! I would rather buy one good bottle of fine wine once in a while rather that a box of wine every day... the same goes for the stronger stuff - drink less but drink better.Too much of anything is bad for you, even water. However, Thea, you need to know that many people have and do become IMMEDIATELY ill if they consume GMOs, high fructose corn syrop or gluten and they should have the right to enjoy life without endangering their health. I mean SERIOUSLY! ...and it is a sad thing to see somebody try their hand at cyber-bullying in a Kahlua forum... hello?!

    Eleonore
  • Many of you that have gluten issues or Celiac disease are TOTALLY misinformed on what gluten is. You really should do more reading/research. It's wheat, rye, and barley. Oats are an issue due to cross contamination. Caramel color is typically gluten free in the US. MSG doesn't have anything to do with gluten. Just because it has "glutamate" in the item name, does not mean gluten. If you have Celiac disease or have a severe reaction to gluten, don't drink things that are distilled to remove gluten in the process. Just drink something that doesn't have it in to begin with. Then you don't have to be concerned. Seriously, people, you need to use some reputable sources to find your info on gluten-containing items and what gluten actually means. It's detrimental to your health if you don't!!

    Molly
  • I agree with Molly - do not rely distillation or other processes to "remove" gluten. The safest way to avoid the risk of ingesting it is to only consume food and drinks that are made with non gluten-containing ingredients from the onset. I have a couple of friends that are celiacs that have both had a somewhat severe reaction to supposedly "gluten-removed" and also "distilled" beverages. Beware.

    Of interest, I recently purchased an iphone App that has proven to be most beneficial when identifying alcoholic beverages, mixers, etc that are made from gluten-free ingredients. The name of it is: "THE GLUTEN FREE BARTENDER". Definitely worth a try - here is link:
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/gluten-free-bar...

    Dan
  • I have a friend that is allergic to corn. I'm wanting to make some pumpkin spice white russians with the bottle of pumpkin spice kahlua I bought however I'm unsure on if it contains corn syrup or not. I can't find anywhere else that it's posted so I'm asking it here. smile Thank you for your time.

    Athenadx
  • Please answer the above question if pumpkin spice kahlua contains any dairy. Thank you.

    Karyn
  • 29.11.14 A date would be useful for answers especially from manufacturers!

    '...should be okay... ' is not a suitable comment from manufacturers, they need to get their act together and confirm definitely one way or another whether Kahlua bought in the UK is gluten, and in my case also wheat free - I'm ultra sensitive!!

    Pesky pleb

    Maureen Page

Add your comment or create a new post

Attach files

Your post & name will be visible to all. Your e-mail will never be shown publicly. Read our policy

Content and User Data Policy · About cookies